What This Beat Has Taught Me

Hello all, I hope you are well.

Spring, 2017. My oh my what a semester it has been, to say the least. Over the past 13 weeks I’ve learned more about online beat blogging than I have in a span of a year. When I first went about choosing a musical beat for this blog, I was a little timid about being too  general or even too nit-picky. I was even worried about picking the wrong beat for, well, me.

Looking back three months later, I now know that I certainly did not pick the wrong beat. It has been a blast and an honor to work with this beat of music and venues in South Jersey. A lot of time, effort, and even some deep reporting and researching went into the stories that I decided to cover (and what stories they were)! I learned a lot about the what-to-do’s and what-NOT-to-do’s, and that has made this trip all the more holistically sound.

One thing myself and some colleagues in my class can attest to without a doubt, is the idea of getting your ducks in a row. This means scheduling meetings, visits, and interviews with plenty of time so that if they fall through, it’s totally okay; there’s a Plan B, or even a Plan C if it comes to that.

Another thing I learned is that people are more interesting than they perceive themselves to be! There are people out there, with stories, lives, and journeys that you may never heard about without this kind of reporting. I learned so much in a short amount of time, and it was well worth the time and effort.

I would like to continue my blog, but if I choose to do so, the posts will be a little less frequent- perhaps one or two times a month, as opposed to one post every week. Please continue to follow and share the stories that happen to interest you, and let me know when they do, too.

In addition to my continuation of Sounds Through the Skylight, I have made a separate page devoted solely to my band, The Third Arrangement. There are already some video links on there, and updates will be provided for all things regarding the band in weeks and months to come.

For now, please feel free to check out some of my favorite stories on the blog so far. They are as follows in no particular order:

  1. Philly’s World Cafe Live: A Tuned Love Affair
  2. BOB BOWLING TALKS ABOUT THE SOUTH JERSEY MUSIC SCENE: VENUES, RECORDING, AND LIVE SOUND
  3. CROSSING THE DELAWARE: 10 PHILLY STAGES I HAVE EXPERIENCED AS A MUSICIAN
  4. THE SCENE THAT GROWS BY THE RIVER: THE MUSICAL GARDEN THAT IS SOUTH JERSEY
  5. HUMAN VILLAGE OF PITMAN, NJ: BREWING BEER AND PRESERVING LIVE MUSIC

 

“Til the sun comes through the skylight…”

Leave a Reply

